top of page
Search

Artist Highlights ~ Chris Gallagher


"I started drawing when I was young, maybe around the age of four or five. I genuinely believe that to be good at drawing, there’s no better way than just doing it over and over again. I see myself still being far from any professional level, but the more often and consistently someone draws, the better you become, regardless of what you’re drawing. Ink pens are what I find the most enjoyable to draw with. The boldness of the lines and how well it contrasts to a white canvas always grips my attention. The most enjoyable yet sometimes frustrating aspect of drawing with ink is that any mistake you make is permanent. Ink teaches you to be better at drawing in general because you don’t get to erase your mistakes; you have to either start over or work on the drawing's mistake. I find ink drawing to be highly beneficial to someone like me who wishes to improve their skill as often as possible because after enough mistakes and redo’s, you begin to see yourself correcting common mistakes.

Anyone considering going into art that hasn’t before, I’d encourage you to do what makes you happy, but just be aware; drawing develops over years of practice. If I’d started drawing for the first time at my age now, it’d probably look something like it did when I was five. It takes time to smooth out the rough edges everyone has when first drawing; as long as you have patience and determination, you’ll find yourself improving over time."

-Chris Gallagher


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page